How did this mess start to begin with?

I am starting this blog because I have exhausted the listening ears of my loved ones. My classroom is awful. A-W-F-U-L. I teach twenty five-year olds in a public school in the Bronx. I started in the middle of the year. The kindergarten classes were full and a new one was to be formed. All of the kindergarten teachers were asked who they’d like to move; of course they each chose the children that gave them a hard time. So now a class of “misfits” (excuse the word) was formed and an excessed (Rubber Room) teacher brought in to teach them. The administration did not like this teacher, so she was reassigned and a sub took over. Apparently, the sub thought the class was hers only to find out two weeks later that I had been hired. So there I was, in January, the fourth teacher to this group of five-year olds.

I should add that nothing in this blog will be exaggerated. You have my word on that.

About this entry